Canberra Protein Group

The Canberra Protein Group (CPG) aims to bring together researchers in Canberra with an interest in protein science. Our members are researchers and students from the Australian National University’s Research School of Biology, Research School of Chemistry and John Curtin School of Medical Research, and CSIRO Black Mountain who share a love of proteins.

We hold semi-regular meetings in Canberra and would love to see you there! Join our mailing list to hear about up-coming events. You don’t have to be an ASBMB member to come along, but we do encourage you all to join ASBMB – first year HDR students can join free! There are a lot of benefits of joining ASBMB – see here. Make sure you select “Canberra Protein Group” as your ASBMB Special Interest Group when signing up (this helps to support our events).

If you’re based somewhere else in Australia, please check out some of the other ASBMB Protein Groups and Special Interest Groups.

Join our mailing list to be notified of upcoming events.


Current Committee members

Megan Outram – President 

Christina Spry – ASBMB Liaison Officer

Rebecca Frkic – Secretary

Xiaoxiao Zhang – Treasurer 

Matt Mortimer – Higher Degree Research (HDR) representative

Sacha Pulsford – Higher Degree Research (HDR) representative 

Stephen Fairweather– Committee member

CPG hosts

Australian Biochemistry Lunch Seminar Series

Every Monday at noon (AEST).
Details sent to CPG mailing list.

Contact Us πŸ‘‡

The Canberra Protein Group acknowledges, celebrates and pays our respects to the Ngunnawal and Ngambri people of the Canberra region and to all First Nations Australians on whose traditional lands we meet and work, and whose cultures are among the oldest continuing cultures in human history.

Cover Illustration by David S. Goodsell, RCSB Protein Data Bank.

doi: 10.2210/rcsb_pdb/goodsell-gallery-028